21st piece of advice, for my 21st year.

west witterings walkRemember this time last year? I was freaking out about no longer being a teenager, and passing the 20 milestone in less than a week. This time, as of a few weeks ago, I’m now 21. I’m not freaking out about being fully submersed into adulthood – I’m ready.

After one more year twirling thoughts around in my crazy head, I have one more piece of wisdom for you. It’s an obvious one, but one easily forgotten in the whirlwind of ups and downs.

My advice is: to feel things, to experience things, to risk everything you have for life changing moments.

Over the past year, I’ve learnt a lot. I’ve also changed a lot. A year ago I was living in a little country village with my long term boyfriend, our cats, and honestly our evening partner Netflix. Our happy life was a mixture of love and bills, and not much in-between. Don’t get me wrong, I adored the life we built there, it was safe and comfortable and I genuinely miss it every day. But the comfort was abandoned, the safety pushed aside, and I uprooted to London for my role at Grazia Magazine.

Every upheaval has a downside, however, the things I’ve experienced over the past year have been exciting, fresh and invigorating. Every day comes with fresh adventure now – not without struggle, but with the zest of life.

I see so many young women, settled into every day life, scared to open their hearts, afraid to interrupt their current path. But if the last year has taught me anything, it’s to try.

Try a move, try a job change, try anything life chucks at you – even if it has an attached warning label. If it goes as planned, great! You took a risk, and it paid off, well done you! If it doesn’t, well that’s a lesson learned and you can chalk it up to life experience.

I say this in regards to feelings too. Don’t be afraid to embrace the good and the bad. You can use it for creative inspiration, you can use it to make yourself stronger. Build on it. Really let that feeling in.

I somehow found the strength in this past year, to trust some people that I struggled to originally believe in. I sceptically gave them the benefit of the doubt, and I was painfully very very wrong. With detrimental effects on my life, there was a moment there where I questioned if I could power through. I couldn’t breathe, I couldn’t think, I didn’t have a next step. I was, for the zillionth time, stuck, with no lifeboat in sight. It was a terrifying weekend with some dark thoughts – but with the help of some wonderful people, here I am. And let me tell you – I am doing good.ย 

Those moments will make you. That breathtaking pain is a thing of beauty, a thing to be ever grateful for. Thank the person who cost you those moments of happiness. Thank them whole heartedly.

You’ll inevitably face the pain whether you hurl yourself at life in full force, or sit waiting hesitantly on the side lines. So what are you waiting for?

Get yourself out there.

 

Stay Sassy,

Lauren

xxx

2 thoughts on “21st piece of advice, for my 21st year.

Leave a Reply

