Cassons, Tangmere, West Sussex

Heaven.

Cassons has been the word on my lips for the last month. It’s the place I’m telling everyone to go for birthdays and anniversaries and Valentine’s and every single celebratory meal you can think of. Why go for a meal elsewhere, when you could go to Cassons?

A hidden gem of West Sussex, Cassons is based on the side of the A27 – if you’re local and you haven’t had the extreme fortune of dining with them so far, believe me you’ve probably driven past it unsuspecting. At first glance, it looks and feels like an extremely upperclass pub. With an understated elegance and a homely welcoming feel, Cassons doesn’t need brash in-your-face decor or a strict dress code. It would be a distraction from what you’re really there to experience: The Food.

Greeting us instantly at the door, Front of House star Alice offered to take our coats and served us drinks with an everlasting smile. Sitting firstly at a table by the bar, we were treated to an excellent platter of mouth watering inventive little bites. Just a tiny tantalising taste of the treat we were in for.

 

Recommendations would be…..everything? Just kidding, I haven’t had the chance to go back and try some more yet!

From their A la carte menu, you can have two dishes for £31 or three for £39. I’m here to tell you exactly what you neeeeeed to order. Firstly, Russ won the starter round with the gorgeous Scallops. ‘Seared scallops, courgette blinis, sauce vierge, watercress
and red pepper coulis.’ If your mouth isn’t watering – it should be. I won the mains though  – he disagrees as the Halibut was gooood, but hey, there’s perks of being a writer! Trust me, have the Venison. ‘Venison fillet, red cabbage and white onion purees, croquette of potato and venison, tenderstem broccoli, wild mushrooms, game jus’. A. Ma. Zing. Also, for desert I highly recommend the Quartet of Desserts. Why have just one, when you could have four?!

 

The evening whisked away before us, as we were taught what food was supposed to taste like with Viv’s incredible cooking. Viv is from New Zealand, and I don’t know what they teach folks over there, but I want to take a class. She stole away from NZ 30 years ago to bring her gorgeous food over here, met Cass (who’s first name I still don’t know?!) and luckily for us this is the 11th year Cassons has blessed us with it’s presence. The fact that it’s run by husband and wife only makes it even more special.

If you have a chance, stop off on the way out for a night cap with Viv and Cass. They treated me to a glass of Baileys on the rocks, and countless life stories about their travels. They’re potentially the most cultured couple I’ve ever met – and in all seriousness, I happily would pop in just to have a chat with them!

 

So, what are you waiting for? Either pop in for lunch or dinner, or have a flick through their upcoming events. There’s a £59.50 9 course tasting menu on the 5th of February – if it wasn’t 6 days before I fly out to New York, I’d be booking my place right nowSo I’m counting on you guys to tell me how AMAZING it goes! Book book book!

Thank you so much to Viv, Cass and their team for having me in to review my evening. Believe me, you’ll be seeing me very soon!

Stay Sassy,

Lauren

xxx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

