My inability to do nothing. 

When I get home from work, I quite often try and convince myself to take a break. Take an hour or two and just simply indulge in doing nothing; soak in a bubble bath with a glass of wine, or get completely lost in a classic novel, or if I’m feeling really lazy I might even binge watch a new season. 

However, every time, every single time, I end up stressing about the photos I haven’t edited, or the washing up on the side, or emails I haven’t replied to etccccc. Like right now. I’m being super lazy and cuddling the kittens whilst I start the first season of Pretty Little Liars. (I haven’t seen it before, I’ve avoided all spoilers, don’t say a word.) Instead of basking in the works of doing nothing, and taking a much needed well deserved break, here I am – blogging. I love my blog, I love my readers and my supporters, and I don’t begrudge the time I spend working on it, but it definitely adds to my to do list. I’m sure my fellow bloggers feel my pain, it really is a never ending list of duties. Blogging is not for the faint hearted, you have to have passion for it or it’ll become too much. 

Photography isn’t for the weak either. Every moment I spend taking time for myself is a guilt ridden thought process – ‘this means it’s longer till my clients get their photos’. Especially with some longgggg hospital trips over the past few months, it means I’m quite far behind on editing so every single moment from home time to bed time is used on playing catch up. Plans at the weekend? Haha nope, you’ll always find me curled up under my blanket clicking away. Luckily for me, I love the feeling I get when I finish a set, I love the gratefulness and love from my clients – some of whom have become good friends. But that doesn’t mean that the endlessness of tasks doesn’t take its toll. 

This weekend, I promise myself that I will take at least 2 hours of ‘me’ time. And I invite you all to do the same. Do something specifically for yourself, don’t worry about all the crazy things on that list. You don’t have to screw up that list, just place it on the side…with a book on top of it…perhaps like a whole crate of books. Ignore it. 

 
 For those of your familiar with Juila Roberts’ Eat Pray Love, you’ll recognise this phrase. I’m sure they romanticised the Italian culture for the film but this alone is enough to explain my love for Italy. Dolce Far Niente means ‘the sweetness of doing nothing’. Take that in your stride. 
Stay sassy, 

Lauren 

️xxx 

2 thoughts on “My inability to do nothing. 

  1. coralswimming says:

    What a lovely post. I truly can relate. Often, when I am home alone (like now), I have to force myself to simply sit down and enjoy a meal without multitasking while I eat! I tell myself that it’s OK to sit down and just eat for 30 minutes (This is difficult for me, because meals at work at usually consumed on my feet as I continue to work). Invariably, I end up gravitating towards my laptop and tell myself that I’m just going to read somebody’s blog, not actually write…then I have to comment…then read another blog…then maybe write my own post…then I’m not just sitting down to eat. I think bubble baths work the best. I wouldn’t dare bring my computer in there!

    By the way, loved the movie 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

