Week one of #VeggieMonth!

Sundays for the next month will be about updating you on our #VeggieMonth adventure! As September only started Tuesday, you’re gonna be missing a couple days I’m afraid….

Day 1

Day 1 was a good’en! We mixed it up with some fresh homemade pizzas – something I used to do as a child, so it bought back some wonderful memories of my younger brothers. We cheated and bought pre made bases, used both a tomato pizza base sauce and puree, and standard mature cheddar cheese. We both wanted different ingredients, as seen in the video, but both were delicious!

Day 2

Our first smoothie of the month for Lunch! Gorgeous green smoothie – Kale, Blueberries, Banana, freshly squeezed Lemon juice and Yoghurt! High in antioxidants, iron, potassium and protein.

Dinner was lush! Sweet potato and goats cheese lattice pie, boiled potatoes, and roasted vegetables (Baby sweet corn, asparagus, courgette, cherry tomatoes, red and yellow peppers, mushroom and white onions). A small confession – I’ve had a few people ask me how I made the lattice pie, errrrrrrrrrm…..Tesco did, sorry!

Day 3

Left over pizza from Day 1 – look at this bad boy! 

For brunch we had another freshly made smoothie – kale, cucumber, kiwi, green apple, lemon juice and yoghurt! High in vitamin C and potassium due to the Kiwi, essential vitamins A, C and K and iron (among other things) from the Kale, and many other wonderful things. The yoghurt just helps sweeten it a tad! 

I snacked during the day on carrot sticks and chopped peppers too, and Russ ate an array of fruit!

Dinner was something I’m a tad proud of – a gorgeous creamy mushroom and spinach risotto, with baby plum tomatoes, white onion, leek, fine garlic, lemon juice, vegetable stock, philli and a few spoonfuls of single cream. General seasoning with basil and paprika, and a sprinkle of cheese on top. Super super easy to make! 

Day 4

Having been off of work all week due to illness, this was my first day back. So as anyone trying to eat healthy knows, it does get a little more complicated when you have less time. However, not impossible! I had a creamy tomato soup and an un-buttered brown bagel for lunch – but forgot to take a photo for you, oops!

We love a good curry on a friday, and those who have me on snapchat will know I was craving chicken – so I made a yummy vegetable curry. Russ worked late on Friday, so dinner was ready waiting when he got home! (I was dying for food, ha!) Sweet potato and chick pea Saag Masala curry, with red pepper, onion, carrot and single cream. We even skipped out on the beer and bread!

Day 5

Yesterday I was really bad and didn’t eat anything all day until about 5pm! Oooooops. Never recommended, but I was catching up on some sleep for most of the day, and I didn’t notice my hunger at all. ‘Lunch’ at 5pm-ish, was a Leek and Potato soup. Haven’t quite mastered how to make my own soup, but I will do one day – so this one I pay homage to Tesco again!  

Dinner last night was a slight cheat I won’t lie to you. You’ll know if you read my introduction to #VeggieMonth, that we’re trying extra hard to stay away from Quorn and just having our regular meals with the replacement – but last night, I would’ve probably punched someone in the face for meat. So we got Quorn Gammon instead! With fried egg, pineapple, mixed vegetables, mini roast potatoes and Yorkshire puddings, and tons of veggie gravy. Mmmmmmmmmmmmm.

Now I’m going to save brekkie this morning for next week’s post, so you can get the delicious stir fry I’m making tonight too. (but that Breakfast is already on Instagram if you wanna check it out!)

First week’s comments would be…..

I’m noticing much more what I’m putting into my body. I’m researching a lot more into which ingredients have which vitamins(etc) in it, and actively trying to make sure we have enough of everything in our diet! I hope that that’s a trait that will stay with me after the month is up.

I miss chicken. I miss bacon, a lot. We’re a big fan of bacon at the weekends so it’s a little hard, but I powered through!

Looking forward to see what the next week brings us,

Stay Sassy,

Lauren.

xxx

2 thoughts on “Week one of #VeggieMonth!

Leave a Reply

