7/7.

It’s been ten years.

london-bombings2

I wanted to write today to convey some kind of grief or remembrance for that tragic event, but in truth I’m struggling to find the words. However, I couldn’t possibly let this go past without at least attempting it.

tumblr_nr4896IRQC1s2h9o9o1_1280

All over social media today I’ve seen friends and family talk about that day, where they were or how they felt. I was 9. I feel awful saying this, but I can’t remember a thing. I don’t know if I was at home, I don’t know if I was at school, I was simply too young to truly understand. I feel blessed in the fact that although I lived in London at the time, this major tragedy didn’t directly affect my life as it did hundreds of others. I wan’t there, ย I didn’t experience it, I didn’t know anyone who was there, and for that I feel selfishly lucky.

article-0-059A0E2B000005DC-602_634x710

Today, as a Londoner at heart and a member of the press, my day has been solely focussed on remembering the 7/7 bombings and all it’s victims – injured or deceased.

And I am proud.

I am proud that London carried on moving. I am proud that we continued to use public transport just hours after. I am proud that whatever those horrible men wanted to achieve, they failed.

I am proud when I read the countless stories of our doctors and policemen and serviceman racing to help. I am proud when I hear all of the stories of regular commuters and passengers doing everything possible to help injured people.

images

I am proud when I hear stories of survivors achieving life long goals: like Gill Hicks, the Australian woman who lost both her legs and went on to compete in the 2012 Paralympics.

images-2

In truth, I am proud to be a Londoner.

I love our City. It’s beauty, it’s strength, it’s resilience, it’s truly kind heart. I love our nature of helping others, I love how much we pull together, and I love that every single time a trauma hits us, we continue to rise from the ashes.

I love you London.

tumblr_nr49w5OD291tkufppo2_1280

Stay Sassy, and Rest In Peace.

Lauren

xxx

Leave a Reply

