Being a strong woman AKA a bitch. Whaaaat? 

 “When a man gives his opinion, he’s a man; when a woman gives her opinion, she’s a bitch.”

For those of you who don’t personally know me, I’m very opinionated. I’ll respectfully listen to someone if they have a different opinion, but I’m willing to fight my corner, and in some cases, hopefully influence the opinions of those around me. I have strong opinions, but I do accept that ‘opinion’ doesn’t mean ‘fact’. I love a good debate – a good discussion about why we think how we do. I personally believe that listening to other people is how we learn and evolve over time. I love to know that I can grow from hearing someone else’s thoughts. I’m respectful, but I’m not a mug. I don’t let people walk all over me, and more often than not, if you’ve disrespected me enough, I’ll probably just cut you out. Simply put, I just don’t have time for that shit. 

So time and time again, other people turn round like ‘my god Lauren, you’re such a bitch’

Hmm.

Let’s think about that for a second.

1) I don’t understand the term ‘bitch’. It seems to have many different derogatory meanings in today’s society. For those of you who follow my Twitter (lauren9dudley) you’ll see that I often tweet about this. Ultimately what you’re doing is using an offensive term, a term which actually refers to a female dog… Real intelligent.

2) If a man is demanding, opinionated and driven…is he a bitch? No? Why? Because he’s male. Because it’s sexy if a man is strong willed. Because it’s deemed attractive.

Because society teaches us that it is okay for a man to be strong.

3) One other thing that shocks me, is that these comments usually come from a woman. Doesn’t that just say it all? A woman calling another woman a bitch for standing up for what she believes in. Ladies! We should be celebrating our successes, supporting each other and congratulating those who have the confidence to stand up and say ‘actually…’ And if you don’t agree with what she’s saying? Then tell her why. Fight your corner.

The US Feminist magazine BITCH posted on its website “When it’s being used as an insult, bitch is an epithet hurled at women who speak their minds, who have opinions and do not shy away from expressing them and who do not sit by and smile uncomfortably if they are bothered or offended. If being an outspoken woman means being a bitch, we will take that as a compliment, thanks.” And I agree. 

I am so tired of the men around me labelling me as a bitch because I fight my corner, or the ladies calling me a bitch because I don’t have time for people who disrespect me or are unforgivably rude. 

I am not a bitch. I am a strong willed, intelligent, confident woman – who demands respect. And if that’s okay for a man, then I sure as hell couldn’t give a flying fuck what you think. 

Stay sassy, 

Lauren. 

️xxx 

13 thoughts on “Being a strong woman AKA a bitch. Whaaaat? 

  1. Rebecca Meyer says:

    Love this post! I completely agree that the double standard is ridiculous. Women should be praised for speaking out about their opinions, not called bitches.

    Another thought I had about men not being called bitches: I’ve noticed that some men call each other “a little bitch” when they feel the other is being weak. It’s as if they’re comparing their behavior to how they view women (as weak), and it’s stupid.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. RebeccaJane says:

    “I am strong willed, intelligent, confident woman” < says it all.
    One of my friends at uni actually told me that she thinks I'm the biggest bitch in our class just because I happily speak my mind. I've never said anything mean or nasty to anyone on purpose (and if by accident I always apologise if it was not my intention) but to be deemed a bitch for saying what everyone else is thinking (which in my opinion, makes you a horrible person to talk about others behind their back but not to their face) then I also say thank you 🙂
    I don't understand why women have to break each other down. They can relate it to our primal instincts and genes but it doesn't take science to tell us that kindness is universal. If we can't trust each other then we're alone in this world. I've been lucky that at uni I've met some amazing friends who also have strong opinions and we often debate on conflicting ideas but we're still best friends. But I also know what it's like to be an outcast because of my opinions so I agree completely with this post! It's disheartening to see that nowadays it's the younger women who agree with this as I have found on Facebook, Twitter, real life etc that older women tend to have these outdated views because of how society has brainwashed us into tearing each other down.

    Brilliant Post Lauren! ❤
    ~ PocahontasJane.wordpress.com xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

