Thank You Glee.

After realising that last night, the last ever episode of Glee was played over in America, I’ve just binged watched 5 episodes to reach that point. As tears continuously streamed down my cheeks, I realised just how much I owe to this programme. It sounds ridiculous, doesn’t it? How can you owe anything to Glee?

 

My first memory of Glee, was recording it on my little digi box, and pulling over my best friend to watch it. We fantasised about how great it would be your could randomly burst into song in real life. I remember that first episode like it was yesterday. As a young teen struggling to fit in at high school, with a keen interest in Musical Theatre, I instantly became a Gleek.

I remember seeing the Glee movie in Uxbridge cinema – there was around 5 other people, probably including my two friends, in that particular screen…so naturally we danced and sang the whole way through. We completely forgot that there’s a TV by the entrance, so there’s been a camera on us the whole time, and all the lovely staff are just standing there watching us. Walking out of there amidst the whispers “those are the girls” was possibly one of the most embarrassing moments of my life, but one I’ll laugh about forever.

324408_137879749639728_2054431_o

289261_137916532969383_7582258_o

I remember it being the morning of my first ever festival, Wireless back in 2013, when I found out Cory Monteith had tragically passed away. Although I admit I did get distracted by Justin Timberlake and Jay Z headlining that night, I was ridiculously gutted by the news. And his memorial episode? I honestly don’t think I’ve ever cried so much at any TV programme ever. (And I cry at everythingggg)

I admire Lea Michelle, more than words can say. I’ve been relatively lucky in life, in the way that no one super close to me has passed away. I’ve never known extreme grief. It makes me wonder what I would do if something horrific happened to my boyfriend, and I can honestly say I don’t think I’d cope at all. I know behind closed doors Lea mustve found it so much harder than she showed us, but to look at all she’s achieved and become now is just beyond inspiring. When I come across a rough patch or start to struggle in life, sometimes I think about Lea Michelle, and I know if she can get through that, than I can get through anything.

Glee being over is like the end of Harry Potter, or Friends. When I went through a rough patch at 16, I used to watch Glee and somehow feel like I could achieve anything. Watching it has the same effect on me, as it does listening to girl power hero Beyonce.

Glee taught me that it doesn’t make a difference who you are, what sexuality you are, what gender you are, what stereo type you should fit into…Glee taught me that absolutely nothing at all can stand in the way of what you want to do in life.

No dream is ever too big to achieve. Glee taught me that. 

Thank you. 

270566_120867774674259_1511971_n

Stay Sassy,

Lauren

xxx

  

5 thoughts on “Thank You Glee.

  1. inquiltales says:

    I Went through your posts and I found a soul who isn’t afraid to bare her persona to the world. Very few people can do that. The whole rainbow of your emotions make it a worthwhile read. Keep it up, for I will now call you a Gladiator 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

