All About That Bass…and Emma Watson?

Hey everyone,

I haven’t blogged in like three weeks and it’s been stressing me out. FINALLY I have a spare hour. Obviously I’ve had time when I get in from Uni or whatnot, but as a typical Uni student, I get home in the evenings, get into my comfies and plonk myself in front of the TV. And you know what? Judge me all you want, I can assure you I do nottttt care. Life has got busy, and when I say busy I mean real busy. Getting up at 6am every day is slowly killing me, and I’m 100% coming down with something. I’m definitely just moaning about life today, you can tell I’m tired!

However there’s so so so many positives. My singing teacher (Ian Baar, singers – find him.) discovered something fundamentally wrong with my vocal technique, it’s very simple but basically I talk with a tight jaw, and don’t open my mouth enough. Since fixing this, I have such a stronger vocal range and comfortably reached a top C last week, which has beyond made my month! I also am lucky enough to have a new job working at the Brasserie at Chichester Festival Theatre, which means a much higher wage and new people to get to know! It means not getting home till around half 10 most week days (baring in mind I get up at 6) so I’m not even sure what sleep is these days, but I’m loving it. I go home and feel like I’ve been sooooo productive all day! Also, in America – Nashville, Vampire Diaries, The Walking Dead, and Revenge have all started again, and I’m pretty damn hooked to them. CokeAndPopcorn guys, that is the website I live my life by in the UK. And in my much loved world of feminism, there’s way too many positives popping up, and although I haven’t blogged about them, I can assure you I’ve been keeping an eye out.

Quite obviously, I can’t post today without mentioning the wonderful Emma Watson’s, or ‘Harry Potter girl’s’ as she referred to herself, inspiring and ultimately game changing speech at the UN. If you haven’t seen it, well you need to re-evalute your life. There’s not a chance you haven’t heard about it, you only have had to glanced at Facebook over the past two weeks to have seen it – it’s been everyyyyywhere. You need to watch it. Honestly, here’s the link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-iFl4qhBsE. Don’t continue to read and skip over it. Nope, go back, watch it. Thanks! Obviously, it speaks for itself, the points she raises are insanely true, and I don’t know about you but I think they’re extremely thought provoking. I think it’s unusual for her to mention the need for Men to join our fight for equal rights, but especially the way she actually gave many reasons why. I will be blogging about this in detail soon, but I can’t not mention it now! It’s fantastic and there is not one thing she says that I don’t wholey agree with. ‘If men don’t have to control, then women don’t have to be controlled’

Another thing I’ve noticed that takes (or should take) a very feminist stance in the media at this current time, is Megan Trainor’s All About The Bass. The first time I heard this song, I was completely hooked. Feel good lyrics, catchy upbeat song with a fantastic video. But then I looked a little closer. I looked into who Megan is, and who she stands for. And in the eyes of feminism, it’s not much… “I don’t consider myself a feminist, but I’m down for my first opportunity to say something to the world to be so meaningful. If you asked me, ‘What do you want to say?’ it would be, ‘Love yourself more.'” I have to say I’m extremely disappointed. Although I agree without a doubt with the message of the song, how can you write a song about everyone being fabulous and not measuring yourself up to the media’s crazy standards of beauty, and not want equal rights? Honestly celebrities that don’t use the power and influence they have in the world to do some greater good frustrate me to no end. I can blog till I’m blue in the face but change only a small amount of people’s opinions, but as a celebrity you have the chance to literally change the world – and you’re a coward. I have to acknowledge the stigma that surrounds the word ‘feminist’, and from that point of career-wrecking view I understand why you would not want to associate with it. But if we all constantly say ‘Oh no I’m not a feminist’ out of fear of what others would think, surely this would only heighten the stigma? Also, I feel like there’s a lot of hate towards skinny gals? And it looks like the media is agreeing with me…Why are skinny girls not allowed to call someone fat, but suddenly it’s okay to hate on someone because they’re skinny?! I don’t know about you, but I know many many many girls who are so incredibly slim, and are more self conscious about it than you’d believe. They eat absolute crap every day and binge on carbs just to try to put on weight, and they just can’t. Whether you work your butt off for that toned booty, or are naturally very slim, or are naturally very curvy – girls as long as you’re healthy, you shouldn’t care. Absolutely love yourself no matter what shape or size you are.

I’ll be back blogging very soon, as I have quite a few topics I’m just waiting to find the time to write about. Bare with me!

Thank you so much for reading you beautiful people! If you ever find anything that’s remotely feminist or seems like something I’d like to rant about, please send it to me! And if you disagree with my views, then please comment, I love to know other peoples opinions! I now have a also Facebook page under ‘Courage Is Not An Option’ (https://www.facebook.com/courageisnotanoption) so you can contact me on there.

Stay Sassy,

Lauren

xxx

Ps. You’re more beautiful with a smile, try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

