Yes I’m a feminist. Don’t cry about it.

The reason for my post tonight is that I’ve created some controversy over my last blog within my family and friends on Facebook, and some worrying factors came up. An old friend told me ‘As if there isn’t enough feminists in the world I’ve got to see it on my news feed as well’. Cue your shocked faces.

Should I be silenced? Should I not publish my views? Should I not be able to stand up and say ‘Hey guys, I’m a feminist!’ So now I feel like I should justify myself – even though it is totally ridiculous that the second I label myself as a feminist, I suddenly apparently became that annoying girl you don’t want to see on your newsfeed.

Take a look at Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s words (familiar to all those who bow down to Queen B like I do, found in Beyonce’s track Flawless) found below. Ever since first listening to Bey’s album, these powerful words stuck in my mind repeating themselves over and over.

0e16863e8df72ac5cc0162335b0bd193

Feminist: the person who believes in the social, political and economic equality of all sexes. 

SO I found some oh-so-feminist quotes I love and live by, and I thought I’d share them with you. To those of you who think feminism is a bad thing, maybe, just maybe, you’ll be inspired and change your mind.

25452d64f90c3c1cc97fa2d51c09a0f8  EllenPageQuote1200-1024x1024 feminism-is-not-a-dirty-word inspiring-feminist-quotes-beyonce Joan-Jett-feminism-35627831-560-586 tumblr_mm8o9zHpQ91so2qjso1_400

ab15068df2e96ec547a99f9dc387c693 BeyonceFeministQuote1200-1024x1024 feminist-quotes-5 feminist-quotes JulianneMooreQuote-1024x1024 more-rebecca-west-quotes   tumblr_mecltkkXDS1rkzjubo1_500 tumblr_mvuax7rxwd1rkzjubo1_500

What do you think? Inspired? However, as most of these quotes are female orientated (the brutal truth is that we are the most targeted gender when it comes to sexism, yes I said it, get over it) I just want to state that I am not fighting for women to become the ultimate gender, but for both genders (and anyone who identifies somewhere in between or both) to be equal. To be treated the same way, to be allowed to behave in the same manner, to be paid the same wage, to not have DOUBLE STANDARDS in society. Anything that would make a man uncomfortable if it was reversed around, should not be something that women should be subjected to. But it works both ways. This isn’t a women’s movement, this is the world as a whole. If you believe in equality, sorry but you are a feminist.

I don’t really want to go into it too much, but Laci Green sums it up nicely in this video – The reason’s she (and I, and most of the world’s population) is a feminist:

Are you inspired yet?

Food for thought – One of my friends, although one I’d like to get to know better, is a strong feminist, and during this controversial debate on my Facebook today that I mentioned earlier, said this:

‘Nothing worse than people saying “uhh, not all men are like that.” No. not all men are like that.
The whole ‘yes all women’ campaign was to highlight that no not all men are awful sexist violent misogynists, but all women have been on the receiving end of sexism.’

Remember, if they’re talking about you and what you’re doing, you’re probably doing something right. Ooooooh, rebellious. You go Glen CoCo!

It’s not sexist to ask for equality. 

Stay Sassy

Lauren xxx

11 thoughts on “Yes I’m a feminist. Don’t cry about it.

  1. mykulmitch says:

    I’m not informed on the topic if feminism, but this is just my take on it. I think the problem is feminism may need a little “rebranding” if you will. (I put things in public relations terms because that is my major haha) but when people hear feminism, they think extreme feminist who want to ruin men instead of thrive with them. I KNOW all feminists are not that way. I know it because I am friends with several feminists and they don’t want to ruin anyone. They just want to be equal. My question is are those extreme, hardcore feminists actually the problem? Because if all feminists were like (you) I don’t think as many people would complain because there isn’t as much negativity. I don’t know, you tell me!

    Sorry for the long comment though!

    -Mykul

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lauren Marie Dudley says:

      Hey Mykul! Thanks for the comment, and thanks for reading! I couldn’t agree with you more. There’s two takes I have on this. Either there’s a couple of individuals who have branded themselves as feminists, that have formed an I Hate Men club. They’re spoken about often, and if these people exist, they are the reason that this negative stigma is behind the word. However, I’ve lived in three different towns, attended 3 different primary schools, a high school, a uni, a dance school, am an active member of many different societies and have had many jobs…and I have NEVER met someone like this. So my second take is that some people are threatened against so many women grouping together to form a united voice, that they’ve created this mythical extreme that we apparently go to, and to be quite frank it’s ridiculous. I’m very open with my opinions, and I don’t let people squash me down, however the second I say ‘I’m a feminist’ people jump to these I-Hate-Men conclusions, like you said, and that’s not what I stand for aaaaaat all. Lauren xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. serenchana29 says:

    Hey Lauren! OMG I LOVE YOUR BLOG. All your articles are written so well and you have such a great range of topics. All your feminist blogs literally sum up my feelings and frustrations too and it’s great to see there are people who love feminism too! Look forward to all your future blog posts!

    I have just started a blog https://serenachana.wordpress.com/ and my first article is about Beyonce and her views on feminism – would love to hear your opinion on it if you get a chance xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. J says:

    If you believe in gender equality, why use the term “feminist”? If a man said he was a “masculist” but actually just meant he was for gender equality, I imagine he’d end up with a lot of misunderstandings too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lauren Marie Dudley says:

      I agree, and this is something I’ve been thinking about a lot recently. But the fact remains that the definition of feminist is ‘someone who fights for equal rights’. So, those who know the correct meaning shouldn’t be confused, and those who don’t can always read my posts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

